Text Resize:

The Quality Assurance Division revolves around managing the TEVET Qualifications Framework (TQF).
The TQF harnesses the following elements:
- Curriculum Development
- Assessment ,Verification and Certification
- Recognition of prior learning(RPL)
- Aligning of qualifications
- Accreditation of TEVETA functions
- Registration of TEVET Providers

TEVET Qualifications Framework
TQF is a Government instrument that has been developed to regulate and harmonize the award of TEVET qualifications in Malawi. TQF is an integral part of the National Qualifications Framework (NQF) which shall be developed soon.

The development of the TQF and NQF is in line with the SADC Protocol on Education and Training where all member countries are expected to develop NQFs.

Curriculum development
The curriculum development process adopts the Competence Based Education and Training mode (CBET). The CBET curriculum development provides for wider stakeholder participation, industry experts, assessment experts and trainers articulate the best practice thus setting the bench marks in their respective occupations.
The TEVET Qualifications Framework is used to guide the development and determine the levels of the standards

The standards are later packaged in appropriate combinations to form modules. The standards are validated by wider stake holders then approved by the Sector Advisory Committee.
The curriculum materials are screened to isolate college based learning outcomes from industry based ones.
During delivery the college based modules are delivered first followed by the industry based modules. The standards are endorsed by the Technical Qualifications Committee. At this stage the standards are registered on the TEVET Qualifications Framework

Trainers and internal verifiers at each training institution are trained on the modalities of CBET delivery and assessment
Main emphasis is on observable competencies during the assessment process. Assessment is conducted by the trainers with inputs from internal as well as external verifiers for quality assurance.
Credits are awarded for each module achieved. When a trainee has accumulated a total of 120 credits in appropriate combinations he/she can be certified.

This is a process whereby assessment decisions made by an assessor are ascertained.
There are two tiers of verification
1. Internal verification is done within an institution by an expert in the field under study.
2. External verification is done by an expert who is not part of the institution being verified. This is done by a practicing expert.

In line with the TQF the reformed curriculum has its own certificate which is attained upon successful completion of the modules specified by the industry
The Certificate is called the Malawi TEVET Certificate and is well protected with security features.

Aligning of qualifications
TQF is also used to align qualifications obtained within or outside the country before introduction of TQF.
The content of curriculum that led to the award of those certificates is examined and analyzed by a body of experts to determine an equivalent level on the framework.
This requires that Awarding bodies/concerned employers should request TEVETA to align qualifications which they would like to know their value

Recognition of Prior Learning
In future when all facilities and structures are in place the framework will be used to recognize skills obtained outside the formal training system.
Centres specialized to assess RPL for various occupations will be established across the country where people will go to be assessed and finally certified.

Registration of Training Providers
Registration is a process of formally recording and recognizing training providers and/or assessment centers that satisfy TEVETA laid down requirements for purposes of ensuring that the provider/assessment centers have a conducive teaching and learning and/or assessment environment.

Accreditation means the certification, usually for a particular period of time of a person, a body or an institution as having the capacity to fulfill a particular function in the Quality Assurance system set up by the Authority.

Assessors, Internal verifiers and External verifiers, Quality assurance bodies and institutions are supposed to be accredited.

Registration rules for training providers were developed and gazetted . Registration brought sanity to the TEVET landscape as it ensures that training providers meet minimum requirements before they operate as training institutions.

The framework for controlling quality of TEVET institutions was virtually nonexistent.
This was deemed necessary because there has been an overwhelming increase in the number TEVET providers due to the advent of the multiparty democracy
Once an Institution is registered it can be accredited to run prescribed courses

How the Division Operates
The division is located in the Assessment and Certification Unit (ACU).
The ACU has offices for the following:

- Head of Quality Assurance Division
- Quality Assurance Specialist
- Assessment and Certification Specialist
- Registration and Inspection Specialist
- Curriculum Development Specialist

Each service centre has a Curriculum Development Specialist.
These work under the Head of Quality Assurance Division through the Service Centre Managers.
The division plans and reviews programs once every quarter .This is done in closer collaboration with the Planning and Monitoring Division.

The division also works in closer collaboration with the TPD in the implementation of the Apprenticeship scheme.
The success of the division and its related programs is dependent on good team-working among the various officers within the division and TEVETA as a whole.

CDS s in the regions also work as ambassadors of the QAD in the regions they are found as such they are supposed to be well conversant with functions of the QAS, ACS and RIS.